Location

LOCATION - Penzance & Penwith

Logan Rock, PorthcurnoSunset over the ScilliesLand's EndFishing boats at Cadgwith


Click for full size map

Penzance (Pen sans - Cornish for holy headland) is a vibrant and historic sea-side town. Facing south on the beautiful Mounts Bay, it is famed for its mild climate and the profusion of flowers and sub-tropical gardens (Morrab, Penlee and Trengwainton, nearby). Walk along the broad promenade west to the fishing village of Newlyn for the catch of the day; go east towards Marazion and walk across the cobbled causeway on the beach to explore the castle and terraced gardens of St Michaels Mount ( or catch a small boat if the tide is in.)

Take a dip in The Jubilee Pool, an art Deco sea-water pool, or swim from the rocks and beach as the locals do, some daily whatever the season! Fine Georgian and Regency architecture abounds while atmospheric Chapel Street has a eclectic mix of independent shops, galleries, cafes and pubs which celebrate their maritime and smuggling past.

The clarity of light has long drawn artists to the area and there is still an active artistic community in the town with several galleries and museums to visit.

DINING

One of the great things about staying at Abbey Stables is the choice for eating out within a few minutes walk. Great pride is taken in the range of fresh, local produce available, used by the chefs and sold at the Farmer's Market, delicatessens and small shops. Some of our favourites:

Restaurants

The Bakehouse, Penzance  (www.bakehouserestaurant.co.uk)

Sukothai, Penzance  (www.sukothai.co.uk)

The Cornish range, Mousehole  (www.cornishrange.co.uk)

2 Fore Street, Mousehole  (www.2forestreet.co.uk)

Mount Haven , Marazion  (www.mounthaven.co.uk)

Ben's Cornish Kitchen, Marazion

Black Rock, St Ives  (www.theblackrockstives.co.uk)

Alba, St. Ives  (www.thealbarestaurant.com)

Wave, St Ives  (www.wave-restaurant.co.uk)

Porthminster Beach Cafe, St. Ives  (www.porthminstercafe.co.uk)

Kota Kai, Porthleven  (www.kotakai.co.uk)

Further afield (about an hour's drive):

Fifteen, Newquay  (www.fifteencornwall.co.uk)

Tresanton Hotel, St. Mawes  (www.tresanton.com)

Rick Stein's Seafood restaurant, Padstow  (www.rickstein.com/The-Seafood-Restaurant.html)

Nathan Outlaw, Rock  (www.nathan-outlaw.com)

Pubs

Crown inn, Penzance  (www.thecrownpenzance.co.uk)

Navy Inn, Penzance  (www.navyinn.co.uk)

Coldstreamer, Gulval  (www.coldstreamer-penzance.co.uk)

Gurnards Head, west of Zennor  (www.gurnardshead.co.uk)

Victoria Inn, Perranuthnoe  (www.victoriainn-penzance.co.uk)

Tinners Arms, Zennor  (www.tinnersarms.com)

Cafes

Archie Browns( vegetarian), Penzance  (www.archiebrowns.co.uk)

Honeypot, Penzance

Penlee Gallery, Penzance  (www.penleehouse.org.uk/visiting-us/orangery-cafe.html)

Trengwainton Gardens (N.T.)

Porthmeor Beach Cafe, St. Ives  (www.porthmeor-beach.co.uk)

Madeleine's Tea Room, St. Ives  (www.teashop-stives.co.uk)

Porthgwidden Beach Cafe, St.Ives  (www.porthgwiddencafe.co.uk)

Godrevy Cafe, Godrevy  (www.godrevycafe.co.uk)

ART

The Penlee Gallery  (www.penleehouse.org.uk)

 -  Focuses on the Newlyn School of Artists, changing and permanent exhibitions

David Lay art auctioneers in Penzance  (www.davidlay.co.uk/)

 -  For West Country art

The Newlyn Gallery and The Exchange in Penzance  (www.newlynartgallery.co.uk)

 -  Have changing exhibitions on contemporary art

Newlyn School of Art  (www.newlynartschool.co.uk)

 -  Inspiring art courses taught by 30 of the most respected artists in Cornwall

Porthminster Gallery, Westcotts Quay, St Ives  (www.porthminstergallery.co.uk/)

 -  Commercial gallery with interesting range of modern art.

Tate St. Ives  (www.tate.org.uk/stives)

 -  Changing contemporary art often with St Ives links

Barbara Hepworth Garden and Museum, St. Ives  (www.tate.org.uk/stives/hepworth)

 -  Sculptures in a garden and studio setting

Leach Pottery, St. Ives  (www.leachpottery.com)

 -  Potter Bernard Leach's home and studio

GARDENS

Trewidden (Just outside Penzance)  (www.trewiddengarden.co.uk)

Trengwainton (Just outside Penzance)  (www.nationaltrust.org.uk)

Tremenheere Sculpture Gardens, Gulval  (www.tremenheere.co.uk/)

St.Michael's Mount  (www.stmichaelsmount.co.uk)

Godolphin  (www.nationaltrust.org.uk)

Trebah  (www.trebahgarden.co.uk)

Glendurgan, on the Helford River and next to Trebah  (www.nationaltrust.org.uk)

Further afield (about an hour's drive):

Trelissick  (www.nationaltrust.org.uk)

The Lost Gardens of Heligan  (www.heligan.com)

The Eden Project  (www.edenproject.com)